Make Every Performance Your Best

As an artist, I procrastinate, second-guess and let worry, fear and confusion enter my mind (as all good artists do). And then eventually … I am done sitting on my pity-pot. After decades of this cycle, sometimes long, sometimes short, I am getting better at my turnaround time.

We need time to amalgamate and fill our creative-wells, do we not?

I’m learning that there is usually a reason for this. The current one? I finished recording two full days in the studio and I think I experienced a post-recording depression of sorts. Or maybe it’s because I recently was turned down for a big project for which *I did my best to get*. I came in 2nd place. 2nd still loses… but I’m just happy to have been nominated? Hmpf.

I pull out of my funk knowing I have started my album journey for ‘Aquatica’ with an acoustic version ‘Aquatica Acoustica’…  this is so I have content and can perform at small venues while I work on the orchestrated version and the BIG show. And since those sessions, and my less than a week-long funk, something Clarke said to me (my Audio Producer) stuck in my head: “Make every performance your best.”

Another thing that was mulling about in my head was how the most effective stories happen when the writer’s intention and the listener’s interpretation match. While we can’t control the perception of our listeners… we can do our best to understand how our stories (words/melodies) are being perceived, and tool our output to have the most aligned outcome.

This is what I am trying to do with the two versions of ‘Aquatica’. I want to start performing live but right now I don’t have the resources to carry around a small chamber orchestra (or pay them) for local performances… I don’t have to do it solo, however. I CAN try to get Ryan, the genius musician on the ‘Acoustica’ album, to perform along with me.

That way the ‘Acoustica’ version will be my best performance. And my story and the interpretation can most easily align.

And then as I perform ‘Acoustica’ live shows … simultaneous work can happen on the full version … and in some months… maybe even a year…

I’ll get back into the studio with that small chamber orchestra I dream about that I will pay for by selling merchandise at the ‘Acoustica’ shows.

I might even experience another post-recording depression of sorts.

But I’ll know it’s coming. And I’ve lived this story before. And it’ll be a short one.

Neumann Mic at Metcom Studios, recording Darby for  Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey, Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Neumann Mic at Metcom Studios, recording Darby for Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey, Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby at the piano at Metcom Studios, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby at the piano at Metcom Studios, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby at the piano at Metcom Studios, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby at the piano at Metcom Studios, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby at the piano at Metcom Studios, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey Darby Music, Darby Tiffany ring ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby at the piano at Metcom Studios, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Darby Bailey Darby Music, Darby Tiffany ring ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby At Neumann Mic, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Metcom SLCDarby Bailey Darby Music, Darby Tiffany ring ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Darby At Neumann Mic, recording Aquatica Acoustica, Metcom SLCDarby Bailey Darby Music, ©2013 Darby, by Codi Moller Critchfield

Leave a Reply

